Veterans Alliance is privately owned and operated to serve veterans. We are not affiliated with the Department of Veterans Affairs.

← All Oregon benefits
housingstate

State Veteran Home Loan — Purchase Only, Four in a Lifetime

Fixed-rate financing from the state veterans department for an owner-occupied single family residence, up to the Fannie Mae limit, for purchase transactions only. Up to four home loans as a lifetime maximum; refinancing is not permitted.

Verified August 23, 2026

What this benefit is

Fixed-rate financing from the state veterans department for an owner-occupied single family residence, up to the Fannie Mae limit, for purchase transactions only. Up to four home loans as a lifetime maximum; refinancing is not permitted.

What it's worth: Fixed-rate purchase financing up to the Fannie Mae limit, four loans in a lifetime

  • The department describes fixed-rate financing for an owner-occupied single family residence, up to the Fannie Mae limit, for purchase transactions only.
  • A four-home-loan lifetime maximum is published.
  • The value is the difference between this rate and what the borrower would otherwise pay, which is not published and moves with the market.

Who is entitled to it

  • The loan benefit belongs to the veteran.
  • You served in the armed forces.
  • Your home is in Oregon.

Not sure whether that describes you?

Answer a few questions about this benefit specifically — we only ask what this one actually depends on, and we stop as soon as we know.

How to claim it

  1. 1Check the discharge and service route first. The department names several: more than 178 consecutive days after 31 January 1955 with an honorable discharge; more than 90 consecutive days for service beginning on or before that date; 178 days or less where discharge was for a service-connected disability or where a VA disability rating is held; or at least one day in a combat zone.
  2. 2Two further routes exist that do not depend on length of service at all: a combat, campaign or expeditionary ribbon or medal, or receipt of a non-service-connected pension from the federal department.
  3. 3Do not plan a refinance around it. The department states purchase transactions only and no refinancing.
  4. 4Count your prior uses. The lifetime maximum is four home loans, and it is a lifetime figure, not a per-property one.
  5. 5Confirm the property type early: owner-occupied single family residence is what is described.
  6. 6Ask the department directly about residency and any time limit after discharge — its own eligibility page does not state either, so do not assume the federal rules carry across.
Form
The department’s home loan application, through a participating lender
File with
Oregon Department of Veterans’ Affairs
Documents you will need
dd214
No renewal
Once granted it does not need renewing.
CorrectionThis is a state loan, not a state version of the federal guarantee. The federal benefit guarantees a lender; this programme lends. The eligibility tests, the property rules and the four-loan lifetime cap are the department’s own.
Known gapThe department’s eligibility page does not state a residency requirement, a time limit after discharge, or how Guard and Reserve service is counted. None is claimed here; ask the department before relying on any of the three.

Sources

This finder provides an informational match, not a government eligibility determination. The responsible agency decides your application.