Veterans Alliance is privately owned and operated to serve veterans. We are not affiliated with the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Mental health

VA PTSD Treatment Options: What Works, Where to Get It, and How It Affects Your Claim

Updated September 2026 · Checked against VA.gov and 38 CFR · Sources below

On this page
01

Need help right now?

If you are in crisis, use the block above. If you need care today, VA says to "call or walk in to any VA medical center—anytime, day or night," no matter your discharge status or enrollment. The crisis support resources guide lists every crisis line and the free emergency room care VA provides for a suicidal crisis.

02

Quick answer: the PTSD treatments VA recommends most

PTSD is treatable. VA's National Center for PTSD puts it plainly: "PTSD treatment works. Those who have gone through trauma can learn to feel safe in the world and cope with stress."

The standard VA follows is the VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of PTSD and Acute Stress Disorder, Version 4.0 (2023) (PDF). Its recommendations come in strengths: "strong for," "weak for," "neither for nor against," and "strong against."

Treatment 2023 VA/DoD guideline What VA says about length
Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT) Strong for Usually 12 weekly sessions, about 3 months
Prolonged Exposure (PE) Strong for Usually 8 to 15 weekly sessions, about 3 months
Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR) Strong for About 3 months of weekly sessions
Written Exposure Therapy (WET) Weak for (suggested) 5 weekly sessions in a VA study
Present-Centered Therapy; Ehlers' Cognitive Therapy Weak for (suggested) Not specified
Paroxetine, sertraline, venlafaxine Strong for Ongoing, reviewed with your prescriber
Prazosin Weak for, nightmares only Not specified
Benzodiazepines; cannabis or cannabis derivatives Strong against Not applicable

Source: https://www.healthquality.va.gov/HEALTHQUALITY/guidelines/MH/ptsd/VA-DoD-CPG-PTSD-Full-CPG-Edited-111624-V5-81825.pdf (Version 4.0, June 2023) and https://www.ptsd.va.gov/understand_tx/tx_basics.asp, checked September 2026.

The guideline also says which comes first. It "recommend[s] individual psychotherapies ... over pharmacologic interventions for the treatment of PTSD." Medication is not second-rate, but if you can do a trauma-focused therapy, that is what VA's own guideline points to. The National Center for PTSD's treatment basics page links to a PTSD Treatment Decision Aid, an online tool for comparing these options and building a summary to bring to your provider.

03

How common PTSD is among veterans

Not every veteran has PTSD. The National Center for PTSD reports that about 7% of veterans will have PTSD at some point in life, compared with 6% of U.S. adults. Rates differ by era and by sex.

Group Lifetime PTSD
Veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan (OIF/OEF) 29%
Persian Gulf War veterans 21%
Vietnam veterans 10%
World War II and Korean War veterans 3%
Women veterans (all eras) 13%
Men veterans (all eras) 6%

Source: https://www.ptsd.va.gov/understand/common/common_veterans.asp, checked September 2026.

VA also reports that about 1 in 3 women veterans and 1 in 50 men report military sexual trauma (MST). PTSD related to MST is treated with the same therapies, and MST-related care has its own access rules, covered below.

04

Trauma-focused therapies compared: CPT, PE, EMDR and WET

All 3 first-line therapies are "trauma-focused," meaning you work directly with the memory or its meaning, one-on-one with a trained provider, usually once a week. They differ in how.

Cognitive Processing Therapy (CPT). You examine and change unhelpful beliefs about the trauma, such as blame or the idea that the world is never safe. Sessions are 60 minutes (90 in a group), with worksheets between them. Around the third session you may write a detailed account of the trauma, though VA notes this is optional. VA's CPT page says nearly all VA medical centers offer it, and a CPT Coach app supports the homework.

Prolonged Exposure (PE). You approach what you have been avoiding, in 2 ways. "In vivo" exposure works through a list of avoided places and situations step by step. "Imaginal" exposure, starting around session 3, has you describe the trauma in detail in session and listen to the recording at home. Sessions run 60 to 90 minutes. VA's PE page says almost all VA medical centers offer it, and smaller facilities can connect you by video to a provider elsewhere.

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR). You hold a traumatic memory in mind while following a back-and-forth movement or sound for about 30 seconds at a time, then talk with the provider before the next round. Sessions are 50 to 90 minutes. VA's EMDR page says many people start to notice improvement after a few sessions, and that it is offered in many VA specialized PTSD programs, with video where needed.

Written Exposure Therapy (WET). A shorter, "suggested" option: in a VA study described by VA Boston, treatment was 5 weekly sessions with no homework, in which "the patient repeatedly writes about a traumatic event." If time or travel is the barrier, ask whether WET is offered.

None of these requires you to talk about the trauma with anyone but your provider. If one does not fit, another may. Stopping one therapy is not failing treatment.

05

Medication: what VA prescribes and what it avoids

The 2023 guideline names 3 medications with a "strong for" recommendation: paroxetine, sertraline and venlafaxine. The first 2 are selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs); venlafaxine is a serotonin-norepinephrine reuptake inhibitor (SNRI). VA's treatment basics page calls them "your best options" because they have the most evidence.

What the guideline says not to use matters as much:

  • Benzodiazepines. "We recommend against benzodiazepines for the treatment of PTSD." If you are taking one for anxiety or sleep, that is a conversation for your prescriber, not a reason to stop on your own.
  • Cannabis. "We recommend against cannabis or cannabis derivatives for the treatment of PTSD."
  • Prazosin. Suggested (weak for) for PTSD-related nightmares. The guideline finds insufficient evidence for it as a treatment for PTSD itself.
  • Most other medications. For a long list, including fluoxetine, duloxetine, mirtazapine, quetiapine and topiramate, the guideline finds insufficient evidence to recommend for or against. That is not the same as "does not work"; it means the research is not strong enough either way. The same applies to psychedelics and MDMA-assisted therapy.

Medication copays follow VA's copay rates; prescriptions for a service-connected condition are free. The prescription benefits guide has the tiers.

06

Specialized programs: PTSD clinical teams, residential, intensive outpatient, women's and MST programs

VA runs almost 200 PTSD treatment programs, and the National Center for PTSD's program page says "all VA medical facilities are required to offer PTSD specialty care, either in a PTSD Clinical Team (PCT) or with a PTSD Specialist."

  • PTSD Clinical Teams (PCTs). Outpatient specialty teams that deliver CPT, PE and EMDR.
  • Primary care mental health integration (PC-MHI). Screening and short-term therapy inside your primary care clinic, with referral onward.
  • Residential programs. VA's Mental Health Residential Rehabilitation Treatment Programs (RRTPs) provide 24/7 care in a live-in setting, not an acute hospital ward. VA says veterans "typically stay around 6 weeks," from a few weeks to a few months, at about 250 programs on around 120 sites, with PTSD tracks and tracks for substance use, homelessness, general mental health and women veterans. VA's PTSD page notes residential or inpatient programs in each region of the country.
  • Intensive outpatient. A step between weekly sessions and residential care, with several sessions a week, at some medical centers. Ask the PTSD Clinical Team what your facility offers.
  • Women's and MST programs. MST-related care is free and needs no enrollment, and VA's MST page says every facility has an MST Coordinator, care includes residential programs, and you can request a clinician of a particular gender. Some RRTPs have women-only tracks.
07

Telehealth, apps and complementary options

The guideline gives secure video teleconferencing a "strong for" recommendation for delivering these treatments. VA does that through VA Video Connect, which runs on any computer, tablet or phone. For a rural veteran, that is how CPT or PE reaches you when your clinic does not offer it. The telehealth services guide covers setup and equipment.

PTSD Coach, built by the National Center for PTSD and the Department of Defense, offers self-assessments, coping tools and education. It is a companion to treatment, not a replacement. VA's Whole Health program adds meditation, yoga, tai chi, acupuncture and health coaching for veterans who want them alongside care.

08

Who can get VA PTSD treatment

You may be eligible for VA PTSD treatment if at least 1 of these is true:

  • You are enrolled in VA health care, or eligible to enroll (see the VA health care enrollment guide).
  • You served in a combat theater or area of hostility, or experienced MST, which qualifies you for Vet Center counseling with no enrollment.
  • You experienced MST, which qualifies you for free MST-related care at any VA facility, even with an other-than-honorable discharge or under 2 years of service, or
  • You have an other-than-honorable discharge and deployed more than 100 cumulative days in combat or contingency operations, or experienced sexual assault or harassment in service, which qualifies you for mental health care under 38 U.S.C. 1720I.

Vet Center counseling never carries a copay. For enrolled veterans, care for a service-connected condition is free; the mental health services guide explains the copay-free first visits and the 2026 rates.

09

How to start: same-day care, referrals and residential programs

  1. Enrolled and using VA: ask your primary care provider for a referral to the PTSD Clinical Team, or contact the mental health clinic directly. No referral is required for mental health care.
  2. New to VA: call or walk in to any VA medical center, any time, or call the Health Benefits Hotline at 877-222-8387 (TTY: 800-877-8339), Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. ET.
  3. Prefer a Vet Center: call 877-927-8387 (TTY: 711), 24/7, or walk in during clinic hours. Vet Centers counsel for PTSD and can help you connect with VA if you want medication or a specialty program.
  4. Assessment first. Expect an evaluation of symptoms, history and goals, then a treatment plan. VA encourages a shared decision: bring the decision aid summary if you made one.
  5. Residential program. Ask your VA mental health provider for a referral; VA's RRTP page says you apply through "a mental health provider at your local VA medical center." Ask about wait times and which sites have the track you need.
  6. Telehealth. If the nearest clinic lacks the therapy you want, ask about video sessions with a provider at another VA site.
Disability Rating Estimator
10

PTSD treatment and your VA disability rating

This section is about what the rules say, not what you should do with your claim. A VA-accredited representative can advise on your case for free.

How PTSD is rated. Service-connected PTSD is rated under 38 CFR 4.130, diagnostic code 9411, using the General Rating Formula for Mental Disorders. The levels are 100% ("total occupational and social impairment"), 70% ("deficiencies in most areas"), 50% ("reduced reliability and productivity"), 30% ("occasional decrease in work efficiency"), 10% ("mild or transient symptoms") and 0% (diagnosed, but symptoms not severe enough to interfere). A diagnosis does not set the percentage; the level of impairment does. The understanding VA disability ratings guide explains how VA reads the formula.

Treatment records are evidence. VA treatment notes document diagnosis, symptoms, and how they affect work and relationships, over time and in a provider's words. That is the kind of evidence a rating decision cites. A veteran who has never been treated has a thinner record. For a first claim, the medical nexus letters guide explains how a provider's opinion links a condition to service, and the establishing secondary connection guide covers conditions caused by PTSD, such as sleep or substance use problems.

Getting better does not automatically lower a rating. 4 rules apply, all covered in more depth on the ratings guide:

  • Notice first. Under 38 CFR 3.105(e), VA cannot reduce a compensable rating without a proposed-reduction letter stating the reasons, 60 days to send evidence, and 30 days to request a predetermination hearing. If you request the hearing on time, payments continue at the old level until a final decision.
  • 5 years. Under 38 CFR 3.344, a rating at the same level for 5 or more years is reduced only when "all the evidence of record clearly warrants the conclusion that sustained improvement has been demonstrated," and the improvement is reasonably certain to hold "under the ordinary conditions of life."
  • 10 years. Under 38 CFR 3.957, service connection in effect for 10 or more years cannot be severed except for fraud or a lack of qualifying service.
  • 20 years. Under 38 CFR 3.951(b), a rating held continuously at or above a level for 20 or more years cannot be reduced below it except for fraud.

A newer rating can change if the evidence at a later exam shows a change, in either direction. What the rules do not do is punish treatment. Symptoms that improve in a structured program and hold up at work and at home are what a rating measures; symptoms that improve in a clinic but return under "the ordinary conditions of life" are what 3.344 is written for.

Bridge to your claim: Every PTSD session creates a treatment record. If your PTSD began in service or was made worse by it and is not yet service-connected, those records are evidence for a disability compensation claim. A VA-accredited representative can help you file for free.

11

What your state adds

State veteran mental health programs sit alongside VA: state-funded counseling for veterans and families, peer programs run by veterans, and county veteran service officers who can connect you to both VA and local care. Some states serve veterans with any discharge. Select your state to see what is available where you live.

12

Common questions

What is the most effective PTSD treatment at the VA?
The 2023 VA/DoD guideline strongly recommends 3 trauma-focused therapies, Cognitive Processing Therapy, Prolonged Exposure and EMDR, and recommends them over medication. VA says they usually take about 8 to 16 sessions and that PTSD treatment works.
How do I get PTSD treatment from the VA?
Enrolled veterans can ask their primary care provider, contact the mental health clinic directly, or call or walk in to any VA medical center for same-day care. Veterans who served in a combat theater or experienced MST can also go straight to a Vet Center without enrolling; call 877-927-8387 any time.
Will getting PTSD treatment lower my disability rating?
Not automatically. A rating under 38 CFR 4.130 reflects occupational and social impairment, and VA cannot reduce a compensable rating without a proposed-reduction notice and 60 days to respond. A rating at the same level for 5 or more years cannot be reduced unless all the evidence shows sustained improvement (38 CFR 3.344). Treatment records usually document symptoms in more detail, not less.
How long is a VA PTSD residential program?
VA says veterans in a Mental Health Residential Rehabilitation Treatment Program typically stay around 6 weeks, from a few weeks to a few months. You get in through a mental health provider at your local VA medical center.
What medications does the VA use for PTSD?
The 2023 VA/DoD guideline recommends 3 antidepressants: paroxetine, sertraline and venlafaxine. It recommends against benzodiazepines and cannabis for PTSD, and suggests prazosin only for PTSD-related nightmares.

Sources

  1. National Center for PTSD: PTSD treatment basics
  2. VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guideline for the Management of PTSD and Acute Stress Disorder, Version 4.0 (2023) (PDF)
  3. National Center for PTSD: Cognitive Processing Therapy
  4. National Center for PTSD: Prolonged Exposure
  5. National Center for PTSD: EMDR
  6. VA Boston: Written exposure therapy effective for service members with PTSD
  7. National Center for PTSD: How common is PTSD in veterans?
  8. VA: PTSD
  9. National Center for PTSD: VA PTSD treatment programs
  10. VA: Mental Health Residential Rehabilitation Treatment Programs
  11. VA PTSD Coach app
  12. VA Video Connect app
  13. VA: Whole Health
  14. VA: Mental health
  15. Vet Center eligibility
  16. VA: Military sexual trauma (MST)
  17. 38 U.S.C. 1720I: Mental and behavioral health care for certain former members of the Armed Forces
  18. VA: Current VA health care copay rates (effective January 1, 2026)
  19. 38 CFR 4.130: Schedule of ratings, mental disorders
  20. 38 CFR 3.105: Revision of decisions (reduction notice)
  21. 38 CFR 3.344: Stabilization of disability evaluations
  22. 38 CFR 3.957: Service connection (10-year protection)
  23. 38 CFR 3.951: Preservation of disability ratings (20-year protection)

Related guides

This guide is general information, not legal or financial advice, and Veterans Alliance is not affiliated with the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Rules and rates change; the linked VA.gov pages are always the authoritative source.